Working in belize

I am a current service operations manager and am also a licensed technician for automotive repair. If there was someone willing to hire me could I then work in Belize? I would be coming from Nova Scotia Canada.

Daver61
You will find Belize protects the jobs here for Belizeans. If you have a highly technical skill that is not held by a Belizean you might have a chance. If a job is able to be done by a person from Belize then you would probably not get a work permit. Also be aware that the average worker makes in a day what we are used to in less than a hour.

In my opinion and experience, Belize is a great pl;ace to retire, or live off of a portable income, but if you need to work maybe not so much.

Hope this helps

Regards Bill

Good Morning, I believe some of the replies are repeated hear-say, and not actual experience. I know several expats who own businesses. Example Kim owns a small store, and had to pay $2600 for a work permit. Eric, a American who works behind the counter, because she could not get a Belizean, makes $40 bzd a day. He had to pay $1600bzd for his work permit. Go figure? I with be going to the ministry of labor myself this coming week, and will post on how it goes. As far as working, it is not all black, and white, and lines do get blurred.

Cochise8933
I usually don't get involved with the smug remarks of others, but since you started with “Good Morning, I believe some of the replies are repeated hear-say, and not actual experience.” and since the only other reply was mine, well………….. that was personal