Salary for Indian Expat to Live Shanghai

I'm an India national and a muslim. I got a job offer from a software company in Shanghai, China. I have been offered a salary of RMB 17000 gross per month. The net salary range would be RMB 13500 I guess.

I'm married, no kids yet. I will bring my wife to Shanghai at the earliest. I'm looking for a standard living; no night outs, alcohol, stuffs like that.

Some additional information about me to make things clear. I'm an Engineering graduate (B.Tech Information Technology) from India. I have close to 6 years of experience as Software Documentation Professional. My role in this company will also be the same - Software Documentation Professional. The work location would be near Xian Xia Road, Shanghai, China.

Can someone suggest whether this salary is sufficient for an average living.

Thanks

Hi aslambashaa, :)

Try to view other topics about "Cost of living in Shanghai" on the forum.

Hi aslambashaa,

That is a good salary. Household expenses are not that high if you don't go for imported products all the time. Rental can varied depending on location, etc., but RMB10,000/month can get you a nice & decent place. It will be a great experience living here.

Wish you all the best.

cheers,
Jeff

Hi,
As the Shanghai native, I think if the house rent can keep under 5,000 RMB  and  the 13,000 RMB AT salary can support your  daily expenses ,  if you are the  savers, the salary can support your Family, even  your  wife did not work.

Back to your another question, base on your background (native English speakers, 6+ SW  Develer  work experience ) your wage level  has some scope to  raise, it can meet with  arround 20K before tax  if you work with US or EU MNC. Usually they will pay 13 month + 1 to 3 month as the bonus.

HI,