Help: Australian wanting to move to Tenerife or Palma De Mallorca

Hello all,

My name is Kym and I'm a female from Australia.
I joined the forum to meet other expats and also get some help with moving to Spain. My boyfriend who is Italian and I are considering moving to Tenerife or Palma De Mallorca in April/May to live and work at least for 6 months.He is a chef and I have lots of hospitality and customer service experience as well as marketing and administrational experience. I'm also a qualified personal trainer and yoga teacher.
I'm currently trying to find out what visa I need to get be able to live and work in Spain and where/how I can get this visa. Unfortunately I do not qualify for the Working Holiday Visa. I'm wondering if a work visa can be arranged in Spain once I have secured a job?
Any information and assistance with work visa information/how to live and work in Spain would be greatly appreciated.

I look forward to chatting with you. :)

Best regards,
Kym.

Hi there Kym,

I'm also an Aussie and have researched this one thoroughly. If you don't have an EU passport and don't qualify for the working holiday visa you are indeed very limited and will need to secure a job in order to get a work visa so that you can live in Spain. Or you will need to do a student visa at a language school. You will be allowed to work for 20 hours max per week. But this is actually an expensive option. If you have the finances to do it - it's the least complicated. Similar to Australia's student visa conditions, you'd need to prove your financial ability to support yourself and return airfare.