IT Salary Advice (to work in London)

Hi all,

I am a 31 years old male that is currently planning on moving to the UK from Montreal, Canada to live and work there in the next couple of months. My father is british so I can finalizing my documents for the ILR.

I have a bachelors degree in economics and a graduate diploma in management and taxation. I also have PMP certification and will have ISTQB certification in the next month with 6 years of experience in the Information Technology field (mostly insurance, banking and financial institutions). Most of my experience is in software testing/QA (manual testing and 1 year selenium automation testing experience).

I wanted to ask you guys for advice...what would be a good salary for me to accept if I get a job offer in London? I am married with no kids. My wife will be moving there too but maybe a couple of months after me. I don't know if I will live in London (highly doubt it). I am looking to live in Ashford or somewhere close to the train station. (My dad currently lives in Kent so I dont want to be too far away from him either)

What should be a good salary to live in London, or in Ashford? How much do you think I should be asking for when I speak with recruiters considering my 6 years of experience in IT to work in QA?

Thank you guys in advance! :)

Hello rammut  and welcome to Expat.com

While waiting for members to advise, I invite you to check out threads talking about cost of living and salary packages in our Cost of Living in England section of the site

Regards
Kenjee
Expat.com

Hi Rammut,