Working As A Freelance Writer In Belize Legalities

Hello!

I have a quick question that hopefully someone can help me out with :)

I'm an American considering moving to Belize. I currently work as a self-employed freelancer. All of my work is completed remotely and online. In addition, all of my clients are located in the U.S.

My question would be, would I need a work permit while I'm in Belize? I'm not planning on taking any new clients while I am there until I achieve permanent residency, but as you know, this is year long process.

While I know I must reside in Belize for 1 year before applying for residency, I was not sure what my status would be as a freelancer in terms of work eligibility.

Again, I would not be seeking new work or new clients just yet, but rather moving the location of my current work so to speak if that makes sense?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Seems like there are lots of non residents working online with income generated outside of Belize.
Also, you may apply for residency after one year. To obtain your residency status may well
take another year.

I'm also a freelance author, building my new home in Belize.
The answer is no. You only need a work permit if actually working in Belize.
Our work is on-line, with clients out of country.
The Pirate