Termination of apartment rental

Hi all,

I am new in Copenhagen, I found an apartment (a rental) recently and I am not totally sure about the termination conditions. In my contract, there is one year of fixed period. But, if I leave my job and come back to my country before, it is not possible to terminate the contract during this fixed period of one year ? So, I will pay for one year even if I don't use the apartment anymore?
Thanks a lot for your help.
Regards,

Hi Oliver,

Contracts may differ from landlord/realstate. But it does seem pretty standard to have a minimum of about 1 year fixed contract before you can resign. This allows landlord to have at least someone renting for a year. If you are not sure that you will stay a year, then maybe you should negotiate that with the landlord before hand or go for alternative renting such as air-bnb...

Regards,
JF

Thanks JF for your answer.

Actually, this apartment was the only one I found after some weeks of search, so I signed it because I needed a CPR as soon as possible. Now, I am considering leaving the country (for professional reasons) and I was wondering if I could resign during the fixed period if I leave the country. But yes, that's something I will have to discuss with the landlord. Anyway, I am not 100% sure yet to leave.

Thanks again for your answer,
Regards,

Do you have a statement says something like you are allowed to terminate the contract with 3 months notification period, however your landlord can kick you out within 30 days :D, that is normally a standard contract.

Whether you can you can end your rent before the agreed time, depends on the contract formular and  how the rent contract is structured. Never say never, you may have the possibility.

Your problem is that you may want to end the rental before time. Normally, it is the opposite situation, and as a tenant you are protected in a very high degree and cannot just be kicked off as mentioned in the thread above.