Questions they ask at airport!

Hi, I'm here, have arrived in Mexico City and love it. First impressions. Anyway, haven't begun the formal visa application process and was a little nervous by the questions asked me at the airport, most notably: is this your first time in Mexico?       

It actually is, but I intend to exit and enter at least a few time before I get established here legally and am wondering if answering, "no, this is not my first time in Mexico" in the future will be a bad idea.

Also when they asked where I was staying, I wondered if saying I have an apartment was problematic since I don't have permanent or even temporary visa status yet.

Do they keep an official count of how many times someone enters and exits Mexico? Is it a red flag if you admit you go back and forth from the U.S. quite often?

How do those of you who live in Mexico without formal legal status handle the questions asked when re-entering?

I'm just a Gringo about to live in Mexico, so I'm no expert, but I've done a lot of work... so I'll give you what I have.

Hi, I'm here, have arrived in Mexico City and love it. First impressions. Anyway, haven't begun the formal visa application process and was a little nervous by the questions asked me at the airport, most notably: is this your first time in Mexico?       

Did you fly into Mexico? If so, you ALREADY have a 'Tourist' visa... good for 180 days. They gave it to you on the plane to fill out. EVERYONE that flies into Mexico from the USA (on any major airline) gets the paperwork for a 'Tourist' visa.

It actually is, but I intend to exit and enter at least a few time before I get established here legally and am wondering if answering, "no, this is not my first time in Mexico" in the future will be a bad idea.

I think it's fine to tell them you have been there before. It's in your Passport anyway...isn't it?