Living in Central America

I am a single 58 year old man planning to move to Central America in January, 2009.  I am a retired teacher currently subsituting in the San Diego area.  I am considering three countries, Mexico, Panama and Costa Rica, but am leaning towards Panama.  My problem is this, I have done extensive research on all three countries, expecially the cost of living.  I have a pension of $1400 a month, plus some money saved, just in case.  While traveling to Costa Rica and Panama, I visited several schools and dropped off my resume.
My research on the cost of living has varied a lot.  Some say you can live conservativly on $750.00 a month.  Others say you need at least $2000 to get by.  That is a big difference.  I understand the big difference since everyone is different.  I live in San Diego.  I am used to living on very little to get by, so that is nothing new to me.  I am both desperate and frustrated over this issue.  Can you give me a general idea on what the basic cost to live in these countries?  I will be using a lot of my pension to make this move.  I would hate to put that money out only to end up in the same situation I am in now. Sorry for the long message, but I will DEFINITELY be moving next January and I am very desperate for help.