Working in Vietnam

I will likely be moving to Vietnam in the next couple years and have some questions about working there?

What hoops do foreigners have to ump through to legally work in Vietnam.

I already have a job where I can work anywhere I have access to the internet so basically what I need to know is whether it is going to be legal for me to work my remote job where I live over the internet.

Also, is it going to be an issue that I have to work through an encrypted VPN? Another thing required by the company I work for.

My understanding is that internet is fairly reliable and fast enough for me to do my job....... 5 meg down and 4 up would do me just fine....just can't use wifi because it does not work well with the vpn my company uses.

Any help would be appreciated as I need to start work almost immediately upon arrival.

Thanks

If you work remote then you can do it legally in VN.

Hey Charlotte,

I work as an illustrator/animator here in HCMC but also have a practice as a freelance designer which means that I can do all of my work online and send to my clients digitally from wherever I may be living.

If you are working for a company here then Work Visas can be a real headache and involve Residence Cards, Police checks, an up to date medical, as well as leaving the country to re-enter again to make your WV valid, and the state will be all over you to ensure that you are making the correct Tax contributions but if you are earning any money from overseas and this is being paid into an account which is not held by a VN bank then you should have no issues at all. Just remember that dependant on your country of origin they will still expect you to pay and file your tax returns and pay off student loan fees if you are determined to do everything by the book!