Coming to Malta for 3 months before finally deciding whether to move

Hi all,

We are a family of four from Austria seriously thinking about moving to Malta. We've been to Malta before and liked it, but as moving with a family is quite a big step to take, we have decided to check out how “real life” (as opposed to holiday life) is there for a family, especially for the kids, so the plan is to come over for about 3 months next summer. I am a freelance English teacher and the centres I teach at are closed over the summer months, and my wife's on maternity leave for 2 years (unpaid, but she'll be able to return to her job after those 2 years if she wants), so we're kind of free over the summer anyway.

I'm planning to work, while my wife and the children try to figure out if they really want to live in Malta. (I must admit I'm the driving force in this venture, as I've always wanted to leave the cold Austrian winters behind… but my wife's sister has left Austria for Italy and started a family there, too, so we have “expat family members” already and are not complete strangers to the whole idea of moving to another (warmer!) country :) 

We are coming in February for two weeks to do some preparing for the long stay in the summer, and that's where I've got some questions I hope some of you experienced expats can help us with: