Break contract visa implications

Hi everyone!

I'm looking for some advice about visa implications of breaking your contract.

I've got a contract with a language centre in a small (c 4m people) city in guangdong province, but long story short it's turned in to a terrible job recently after I've been working there for about 18 months, so plan on leaving soon and finding a new teaching job.

If I break my contract with the centre about 6 months early, what are the implications on my visa for a new school that I would potential sign for?

Whilst I havn't spoken to my current boss yet for obvious reasons, The language school I work for now in my contract stated that I have to repay the salary that I havn't earned yet and have remaining on my contract (about 40k rmb - 6 months pay) which I can't really afford. If I left the language centre and signed a new contract with a new school, would the language centre have any impact on my business visa or could the new school simply change the company name with the local government themselves?

I've heard horror stories about previous employers being able to slow up the process when expats work for another company especially if they leave on bad terms (ie breaking a contract, like I plan to).

Has anyone been through this before and could shed some light on the subject, especially the rules for Guangdong province. I could wait until March to find a new job when my current contract expires, but I really wouldn't want to wait that long to be honest!

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Many Thanks in advance,

A nervous ESL Teacher.

My understanding is that an employer sponsors an Expat visa with an invitation letter that is submitted with the visa application. The initial visa is changed to a Resident Visa within 3 months of arrival in China.
If you leave the employer before end of contract, they are legally bound to cancel your Resident Permit by notification to the authorities.