Learning German

I am new to Germany, having come here from the United States.  I am living and working with friends...so I am getting the day to day interaction of hearing the German language...however, I would like to learn it better and faster.  I seem to do well with very traditional, organized language learning....how to conjugate verbs....etc.  I cannot seem to find anything like that.  I have looked into the "peoples school" but fear that it will not teach the language like I need it to be taught to me and if I am going to have to pay for it...then I want something I can learn from.  I live about an hour from Frankfurt...so going there to take lessons would be difficult.  I would gladly pay for an online course if it taught the language the way I need to learn it. I have looked into Live Mocha---but again...it teaches the language kinda like Rosetta stone...and that is not what I am looking for.  Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas?  They would be GREATLY appreciated!  I am starting to feel frustrated...:/

Welcome to Expat.com, dnaraz :)

I hope some of the active members of the forum will soon come forward with some hints.

Best of luck
Arlette

Thanks...nothing so far...:(  I never thought about how hard it would be to try to find German language books/courses in Germany....LOL  I am at a loss....

What about classes at a local university or language school? If that's not an option, maybe a private tutor?

You can also order some awesome grammar books from amazon.de: amazon.de/English-Grammar-Students-German-Learning/dp/0934034311/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1287897247&sr=8-1

amazon.de/Schaums-Outline-German-Grammar-Outlines/dp/0070251347/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1287897307&sr=8-4

munichami.blogspot.com