Which language to learn

I am an electronics professional engineer. I am planning a long trip to South America in 2016. Since I was about 7 or 8 years old I was fascinated by Brazil. I will travel to Ecuador, Peru, Northern Chile/Argentina, Bolivia, Paraguay and of course Brazil, Most of my time will be spent in Brazil (about 60% perhaps more). I have been inquiring on which language to learn and am getting mixed answers. Some say Spanish, some say English is good enough and some say Portuguese. I lean towards the last one.  Right now it is a four month trip. I may consider staying there for maybe a year or two. Here are my questions

1) Which language should I learn assuming I am just a visitor?
2) What are the requirements for a work Visa. I have two degrees and 20 years experience.

http://i1320.photobucket.com/albums/u531/wjwoodward/BANNER_zps3602e73e.jpg

Hello exponent,

On behalf of everyone here at Expat-blog, and for me personally it is a great pleasure to welcome a fellow Vancouverite on board. I hope your participation here will be both enjoyable and informative.

If you're planning on spending the majority of your time in Brazil then the answer to your question is NEITHER of the two. You will need a firm grasp of PORTUGUESE to get along in this country. English is not widely spoken in Brazil, or anywhere in South America for that matter. While the other South American countries are Spanish speaking nations, Portuguese and Spanish are close enough that you would be able to make yourself understood in those countries if you spoke enough Portuguese. I am speaking from over 13 years of experience living in Brazil, and I can tell you that I will never regret having arrived here nearly fluent in the language. You will find that it is the single most important factor in successful adaptation to life in Brazil.