Student living in Oslo. About Banks and Housing.

Hello,

I am a student from the U.S. I will be starting my master's studies in Oslo at BI Business School. I received my admission offer a bit late so I missed the student housing deadline. I had a few questions regarding living in Oslo.

What websites, agencies or methods can I find affordable housing for about 4-5 months?
What are the major banks in Oslo/Norway and can an account be opened online?

It's a bit of a messy situation for me. As for my residence permit, they require for me to have funds in a Norwegian bank account and also have a housing contract before I arrive in Oslo. I am a bit baffled and worried on how to proceed about getting a bank account mostly. I will manage the housing somehow.

Any other students/expats been through the same process?

Hi apatel2,

Welcome to expat-blog! :)

Some of the questions you are asking have already been answered on the Oslo forum.
You have to browse through the forum categories on the right of the page and go through the different topics.

Hopefully members of this forum will help you shortly,
Bhavna  ;)

1)  finn.no has housing
2) Here's a fairly comprehensive list of banks: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_banks_in_Norway
3) I suspect it's difficult to open a bank account remotely given that most expats I've spoken to had the same experience I did. The bank wanted to see ID and my basis for residency before they would open the account. This bank even says you need to do it in person. The bankID they refer to is something you can't get unless you've already become a banking customer in Norway:
https://www.dnb.no/en/personal/internet … cards.html

HI Apatel2