Teaching English in Busan?

Hello,

I am an English and French bi-national bi-lingual female born and raised in France who just graduated from a French university with a BA in English and Education. As I have been learning Korean on my own for the past 6 years, I would like to go settle in Busan as an English Teacher. Having been studying Korean for so long, I made contacts thanks to which I might find a job, but the problem is the visa.

I have -of course- looked up the conditions under which people could apply for the E2 visa, as it seems to be the one I would need. However, although I am a fully-fledged British citizen(by descent), as my degree is degree is French I am apparently not considered a native of English, and thence cannot apply for an E2 visa. My question is, how strict are those rules?

I have heard about this or that friend who -being a white female- passed for a native and taught English illegally, but I just can't see myself try and do that. Would my application even be considered -as I did major in English on top of being English- or would they outright discard it because of my university? The immigration office apparently only answers inquiries regarding visas in person, and I can't possibly see myself fly all the way there to have an answer which -even if positive- would have me go back to France or England to apply for the E2 visa..

Has anybody heard of similar cases? Does anybody know how the immigration office works?

Teajessie wrote:

Hello,

I am an English and French bi-national bi-lingual female born and raised in France who just graduated from a French university with a BA in English and Education. As I have been learning Korean on my own for the past 6 years, I would like to go settle in Busan as an English Teacher. Having been studying Korean for so long, I made contacts thanks to which I might find a job, but the problem is the visa.