African american needing information

Hello Everyone,

I'm so happy that I've found this forum. I have a few questions and hopefully you can help me out. My husband and I are Muslim, he's a Mouride and really wants to move to Touba city. We're both African Americans who've never traveled abroad. He works for an airline so we do travel quite a bit. We are hoping to relocate and want to know:

Would we be able to find work? I have some teaching experience. I have a BA though not in education. I have taught ESL and currently I teach standardized tests for Kaplan. I also have some agricultural experience. I am head of a small non-profit that runs a fence free organic farm. I do a lot of seed to seed gardening in the community.

My husband has some mechanic experience he graduated from the Aviation Institute of Maintenance. He's not certified but we can solve that. He's also good with cars and has some construction experience as well. 

Secondly , I am currently pregnant with our first child. We'll probably be moving with a toddler and expanding our family while there. Does anyone have any experience with giving birth and raising small children in Senegal?

Hello Meemzy,

i created a new thread from your post in our Senegal Forum to increase the visibility of your queries hence finding more interactions.

Good luck in your search,
Gavind

Hello Meemzy:

Thinking of taking the plunge are you?  Well good -- it is always good to explore new worlds.  As you know Senegal, and Touba explicitly, is the home of Mourides.  My husband is also Mouride.  We have lived in Senegal for nine years.  However, our home is not in Touba.  My husband has a home there with his family.