Student accommodation on train line 161

Hi! I'm a student from USA getting ready to study at a university near Etterbeek station. I have no French and very little Dutch, so this trip is going to be quite the adventure. I'm planning on living in Brussels for around a year and need some advice on which areas are safe and affordable.

Looking at the areas around Etterbeek station, it seems that my best choices are to either live within a few minutes in Ixelles or Etterbeek, or to commute along the 161 from further outside of town. I'm hoping not to have to spend more than 500 euro per month plus fees for a loft or one bedroom apartment (though there is the possibility that I may rent with a classmate, in which case I would still prefer to be under 500 per month per person). I'm not really interested in student housing where I wouldn't know the people I'm renting with beforehand. It would be really great if I could find a place that's furnished, though I imagine that this will up the cost quite a bit.

I would like to be somewhere quiet with a fair number of native English speakers (during the day the center of town excitement is ok, but one needs someplace safe to retreat to at night or during the worst throes of culture shock, in my experience). I would also like quick access to somewhere natural, as I come from a very rural area and am unsure of my ability to adjust to the density of city living.

I do not drink or do drugs. I do not like being around those who do (not a value judgement; it's just no fun being the only sober person around). I do not anticipate eating out on a regular basis. I'm used to long commutes to and from home, so I can accommodate up to a 30 minute commute to and from school with public transportation. If given the choice I would prefer to live in a Dutch-speaking area.