Job Searching Very Frustrated!

I moved to Norway back in August last year with my long term partner (a Norwegian), I found a job pretty much straight away but it was only temporary up until Christmas, so I've now been job hunting since January. I've  applied/sent by post or emailed C.V's to over 45 employers and only had one interview, who then called me up to tell me that they would not be taking my application further as i had "Too much experience". So frustrated!!!

I'm a chef with 15 years experience of working in some very good restaurants in the UK as a Head Chef. I earned a very good living before I left and had people trying to poach me from my job all the time, yet here for a country that apparently has a national shortage of experienced and trained chef's, I can't even get a job.....What on earth is going on.

The place I worked for was the best restaurant in Bergen and they even gave me a very good reference so what the hell?

I'm now more worried that I'm going to have to move back to Britain because my savings and any money I earned from my first job are slowly being g dithered away on living expenses.

It's a difficult situation as my partner wants to be around her family but if I can't get work then I have no other choice, I also cannot commit money to a Norwegian language course whilst I do no have a steady income coming in.

The economy is becoming more difficult these days. It maybe good to discuss and call those that I have not taken your CV, saying you are ready to work for maybe a little less than your qualification would allow. The problem you have happens to many here that are overqualified and have difficulties finding a job.

Hello NordicLlyr,

I'm sorry to hear about your situation, it really sucks, since the Bergen is in permanent need for some decent chefs!