Hi. My name is Samantha. And I'm an expat living in France...

Here's where you ALL welcome me with a hearty hello! I'd love to connect with other expats, share war stories and good times, etc.

:D

Those of you in the Toulouse area, please, please introduce yourself.

Hello Samantha!

Welcome to Expat-Blog! :)

Your discussion has been moved to Toulouse Forum,enabling you to communicate better with other members.

Also, Check out Toulouse expat network where you can start establishing new contacts and making friends.

All the Best!

Regards,
Sheetul

Hi Samantha,
I do not live -yet- in France, just examining my options to go expat, either to FR, or to Netherlands.
I work in IT, and my French is at very basic level. So, i feel I'll have a hard time finding there a job requiring only English (at least for the first year or so).

How do you feel about Toulouse (have you lived in any other french, or european city, to compare it?).
when I read your post, i went to the maps and the first thing I thought was.. "Oh great! near the south Mediterranean coast, near Barcelona, and equally near to the Atlantic coast"
the weather there must be good. isn't it?

You went FR on your own, or following your spouse/friend?
Do you work there? self-employed or employee?

Your fluency in French is good enough, or you managed to earn a living just with English?

pimforpim wrote:

Hi Samantha,

How do you feel about Toulouse (have you lived in any other french, or european city, to compare it?

I've lived in London, but this is quite different since English really isn't spoken. Also, I live in a small town fifteen minutes outside of Toulouse – very different than living in the city itself. Toulouse, itself, is a nice, manageable city.

"Oh great! near the south Mediterranean coast, near Barcelona, and equally near to the Atlantic coast." The weather there must be good. isn't it?