Moving to Nairobi

Hi everyone!

I am a Swiss lawyer with a love for entrepreneurship (I co-founded two startups) and I am moving to Nairobi in a few weeks.

I was born in Geneva, raised mainly there (two years in New-York). I lived one year in Hong Kong to do my master degree and lived a while in London to work on my second company.

I don't know anything about Nairobi, just heard great thing about this city and decided to move there. I am currently looking for a job in a social entreprise and will need to find a cool flat share.

Please feel free to reach out to me! I am super keen to meet and hear the story/tips from everyone.

Best,

Jerome

Hello Jerome,
Welcome to Kenya, u will definitely love it especially now that the weather is so perfect,  sunny :-)

Moving to Kenya is one thing when you have a visitors visa which will be three months.
After that if you want to work getting a working visa will be the bigger challenge as you
will have to prove you are doing something no other Kenyans can do to qualify for a
working visa.  Think carefully about all that, the cheapest flat  share may cost you like
40,000 kshs without meals and transport costs depending in which part of town you will
wish to stay, security also should be of prime concern as recently an intern sharing with
other interns had all his money stolen in his second week of moving in with others.  I hope
the few  pointers i,ve given you may help you think first before you make a decision. You
can email me on [email protected] for further discussion on points to consider.

Eunia.

[moderated: please post an ad in the Housing in Nairobi section.]

Hello Jerome,
I am Antony, a Political Scientist by training. I am also working to establishing my start-up here in Kenya. We can meet up and get to know each other, since I live in Nairobi. You could contact me
[Moderated: Phone numbers are not allow on the forum please]
Thanks.