Dual citizenship - anybody know how to get this done in stuttgart?

Hi!

I am an American with a German mother. I moved her with my son last July, I am also an independent consultant with contracts and statements to prove earnings. I have gotten a couple of extensions on my visa and would like to stay here in Germany. The Auslanderamt herein Stuttgart said I need to go to Koln to apply for dual citizenship, I called BVA there and they said no it can be done in Stuttgart.

Does anyone have experience with this, and if so hat is the best way to navigate this. I can tell you now they do not understand the life of an independent consultant.

TIA for your help!
Mitchel

Dial citizenship is not normally allowed for non-EU citizens. You will most probably have to forgo the other citizenship to become German, except if you became German and USA citizen by birth.
You could consult a good immigration lawyer about what to do in your case - you might need one anyway if the authorities are not cooperative.

yeah, beppi is correct - it doesn't sound lie you can get dual citizenship.  I'm from the US originally, and am also an independent freelancer who makes a living here.  Every time I've renewed my work visa (Aufenthaltserlaubnis), the kind people there have told me "you have another x years and then you can get our Daueraufenthaltserlaubnis (permanent visa)".  The total is I think 7 CONSECUTIVE years, which I botched because I was longer than 6 months out of the country in my seventh year.  Oh well, gotta start again.  But a permanent visa is like the US green card - you can work forever in the entire EU, and can even live/work up to a year and a half of something outside the EU and still be considered a citizen.