Help! What is the procedure for foreigner switch job in Malaysia?

Hi everyone!

I am now working in Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur with 2 years contract and working permit issued by an HR agent.

I have been working for 6 months, but now I would like to change the company and job(totally different job, not related to the current job at all). There is one company want to hire me but now I don't know how can I change the working permit.

I heard that company can buy foreigner's contract directly from other company and don't need to apply for the working permit again. Is it true? Or, I need to resign first and get the release letter? If so, do I need to pay for the 26% tax for 6 months again?

Please help! I really don't want to work for the exisiting company, because they delay salary and don't care about employees at all!! I will be highly appreciate for those who provide any ideas to me!!

Hey there.

Welcome to Malaysia. If you want I know a way to help u. Call me at 0124396550

No, your information is not correct. Your present company has to issue a No Objection letter and cancel your employment pass. You leave the country and are hired by the new company.

HI,

Thanks for your reply.

But my indian manager was hired by my agent, he was under another agent before. I don't know how my agent buy his contract from the other company so that he didn't need to resign and go back to India then come again.

If I am wrong, can you tell me about the no objection letter and what about the tax I paid for 6 months? Do I need to pay 26% foreign employee tax again in the future?

Thanks for your ideas.

Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

I will contact you. But I hope that is not the illeagal way.  :)

Thanks

The point is what name of employer is in your passport.  It has to reflect the company you are working for. So if it is under the name of the Agent, and you are paid by them, you would not need to change the employment pass.