Attorney/Lawyer positions for fresh law school graduates

Hi all,

I am just wondering what the legal market is like in Tangier. I am finishing up an LLM in Intellectual Property Law, and completed my JD in Hong Kong. Is it completely out of the question to consider beginning work abroad in Tangier with no experience? If someone could shed light on American qualified attorneys in Tangier for me, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks a ton.

Boris

I'm sorry that this doesn't answer your question, but I would of thought opportunities for Lawyers is better in the USA, and elsewhere outside of Morocco, judging from the number of Moroccan Professionals who are seeking opportunities abroad.

Hi,

my reply might come late but hope it will be of help even at that stage.

I work in the legal sector and I can tell you that the market of professional law firms is not yet saturated especially in Tangier, however, Morocco has its own legal system thus the positions would be open for candidates who are familiarized with local laws and master arabic and/or french (besides english), as the first are the languages of the administration and the widely spoken. Am available for any further queries you might have.

cheers

Be aware that you need, as in all Arabic countries, Modern Standard Arabic to work in the court system. French is not permitted in the courts in Morocco any more, as English is no longer permitted in Jordan, for example. All statements are taken in MSA in both criminal and civil cases.

How do I know this? I am coming to work in Morocco and I have had to research the position as regards my job, my employer, declarations we have to make, registrations at the court and so on. I'm afraid that the alleged legal expert who says that French can be used is incorrect.

As a general rule, moreover, don't write privately to people who claim to be experts and say they want to "help" you.