So, moving to Norway isn't proving an easy task.

Let me start by saying the REASON I want to move to Norway (aside from it being a beautiful country, which seemed more like "the right place" for me than my own hometown) is because of a relationship. We met just about two years ago now, and I have been there twice to visit him - we would really like to be together .. for real. But, as it seems, finding options for this is nor working out for us.

Due to medical reasons, he is on disability, and his income falls just short of the requirement for a Fiance Permit. He should have what UDI considers enough to support two people, and he doesn't. In moving, I fully intend on finding and keeping a steady job for us to live on a combined income.

What other options do I have? I have an associates degree, with four years of college studying photography under my belt, but so far I have found no way I could even take those studies into Norway.

I've called the Embassy nearest me, and also emailed the UDI - but the embassy didn't seem to have much of an idea what might help us in our plans, and the UDI just replied with links to the information on the website that I'd already read.

I'm looking for someone who might be able to help seek options, and perhaps better explain some of the things on the UDI website because.. To be completely honest, I get pretty confused when reading things like that - some of it seems quite hazy.

As for the possibility of him coming to the US, to be honest it is just a better idea for me to go to Norway. With his medical needs, it is better suited that he stay where everyone can read his records. Plus, I .. really would just like to go there!

Does anyone have any tips or advice or just.. anything helpful at all? With the issues of yearly income being JUST a bit too low, I don't know what to do.