On-line visa application - legitimate?

I'm new to this post, so please forgive me if this is an idiotic question.  My husband and I are travelling to Hanoi early next year with the goal of eventually finding work and converting to a business visa.  However, initially we want to enter on a tourist visa.  We will be travelling from Melbourne, Australia. I will travel on a British passport and he will use his US passport.  There is no Vietnamese consulate or embassy in Melbourne, so I am considering mailing my passport to the consulate in Sydney.  However, I'm worried because this passport has my Aussie work visa in it.  Please can anyone tell me if the on-line Vietnamese visa application sites are legitimate.  I found a couple (moderated: no ads)
Are these bogus or for real?  They claim that they will issue you a document that will enable you to get your passport stamped on entry.  Sounds suspiscious.  Does anyone have experience of this or any comments that would assist me in deciding whether to risk mailing my passport or arriving in Hanoi with a piece of paper as visa application?  Thanks.

Hi,

I just wanted to let u know that the Vietnam visa on arrival worked out fine for my companion and I when we arrived in Saigon by air a couple weeks ago .After seeking the same type of information about Vietnam visas a friend told me about an online site that he and his girlfriend used in December 2009. I used this online service in July 2010 for pre-approval of a multiple entry visa. It would have cost me more money in lost work time, a night's hotel and train tickets than to pay the $25 for this online service. Note that it is much cheaper if you simply want a single entry visa.

My approval letter came back within two days, I took it and two passport sized photos, paid $50 cash USD and received my multiple entry visa. (I needed multiple entry so that I could leave for Cambodia and return again into Vietnam).