Employer refuses to issue an EPO unless I pay 7 months salary

Hello,

I am a teacher at an International School located in Jakarta, Indonesia. I have a 2 year contract with a clear clause stating that either party (me or my employer) may end the working agreement by giving 6 months notice. I did this, my employer said "ok, we will miss you" and then waited 5 months before saying that I must pay him 7 months salary and also the cost of bringing a new teacher into Indonesia. There is nothing about this in my contract but my employer says if I don't agree they won't give me an EPO (Exit Permit). My KITAS expires 30 June 2014 and I don't know what to do. Can anyone help or advise me on this matter?

If everything you describe is truthful and accurate (and Im not suggesting it isnt) then youre being extorted which is a crime of course.

If I were in your shoes I would tell the administrator at the international school that you are about to do two things:

A)    File a criminal complaint with POLDA in Jakarta.

They wont like that given all the current negative publicity surrounding the Jakarta International School (JIS).

B)    Visit the US Embassy in Jakarta and talk to someone there who can offer assistance (which they will do for American citizens who are being victimized by crime).

You are running out of time, so Id make that phone call to your past employer as soon as possible.

Double check the contract...just in case.
It would make sense for the school to have added a clause to make you pay if you leave early.
Hiring an expat is expensive; try to see both sides.

Thanks for your response, I appreciate it very much. I'm worried that if I 'threaten' them they will try and deport me or make it difficult for my new job here in Indonesia. My wife is Indonesian as well.