Is 45000/month a good salary?

Hi everyone,

I got an offer to work as front office risk manager in Abu Dhabi, but I have no idea what the market rate is over there. Any input would be much appreciated.

I have 7 years experience in risk management and currently living in London. If I accept the offer, I will be coming with my family, wife and two kids 5 years and 6 years.

The offer is as follows, in AED:
Base: 45k/month
Schooling: 17k/year per child
Transportation: 1,800k/month
Relocation: One time 25,000 relocation allowance.
Healthcare for the family.

I think this covers it. We have a modest lifestyle, maybe dine out once a week.

Thanks for any input!

Hiya

The package you have been quoted sounds very good. You will be fine with your family to live off of that amount. Does the package include housing? I know you have said 25k relocation allowance, is this in dirhams or pounds? Sorry for maybe being a little thick ha. The main expenses over here are the rent for accomodation and school fees. It is good the company will provide the 17k per child school fee, although I do feel this is quite low ( I don't have children myself but seem to think the school fees at British schools are around that much a term!) maybe someone with more knowledge could chip in their input.

Hope this helps slightly

Laura

Hi Laura. The package doesn't include housing and the relocation is in dirhams. We are thinking to rent an apartment in Al Raha - Al Zeina and school fees are around 45k/year per child. Would this still be attractive? Thanks

Hiya

I think al raha are mainly Villas, it's a lovely area as is al zeina- I'd say zeina may be more expensive than al raha but not completely sure.
The school fees sound better at 45k per year per child, I would try and look into the schools as soon as possible as there are quite big waiting lists for the british curriculum schools - have you thought about any schools?