What are the odds of getting an EP / S-pass without a degree?

Hi,

I'm a resident of India and have applied for jobs at a couple of startups (good ones) in Singapore as a Software Engineer. I'm in talks with a couple of them, and assuming I get a job, how hard would it be to get an EP / S-pass?

I checked with various criterions on SAT and with no degree (filled it in about a dozen times), I saw that I need to command at least $6000 / month salary to be eligible. Even with that, what are the odds of rejection? Also in case I am not awarded that salary (though I very much expect to be), what are the odds of getting approved for an S-pass (the SAT says qualified for S-pass only if the salary is below $6000)?

I have 2 years of experience working at a startup in India (in the same field I'm applying for in Singapore). And I also have about 2-3 years of freelance experience (though I don't have any documents other than probably PayPal receipts, Elance profile or bank statements to prove that).

Thanks

Before MoM abolished the EP classes recently, making the process less transparent (and giving them the chance to change the criteria at any time), the rules were like this:
- Every EP requires a (recognised) degree, except if the salary is above S$8000/month.
- S-Pass needs only a technical certificate (no degree), but is seldom granted above S$4000/month.

A comparable local with no degree and 2 - 4 years applicable experience in IT can expect to earn S$3000-3500/month. (Please note that this is not enough to rent your own apartment - you'd have to share one!) Foreigners (and especially Indians) are usually offered less than locals.

I already make an equivalent of about $2500 SGD working in India, with the cost of living being about one-third of that in Singapore. I'd expect at least a reasonable amount for the job title I'm applying for.

Regardless, my question is that MOM has this mentioned on their site: