Decision to make

I have been living in the UAE with my family for 2 years now.  However, my husband has just been transferred to Saudi Arabia, on a visit visa, and will be flying back every couple of weeks.  He's earning good money, but rent and school fees are high here so it feels a bit silly to stay here since he won't be with us full time anyway.  Our long term plan has always been to move to Italy, and now seems like a good idea, as he'd be able to fly back to us every month.  However, I'm totally clueless about living there.  We've visited a few times and love it, but I now need to think seriously about this starting with where abouts we'd like to live.  Tuscany and Umbria are the obvious choices as we've been there and know how beautiful they are, but I know they are expensive.  What are the options?  I studied Italian for a year, but would need to start again, as would the children.  Is there anyone out there who has made this move with kids and what advice would you give?
Thanks

Hi and welcome to Expat.com, chiara!

Hi Chiara:

You might want to consider the Marche region.  it is more affordable than Tuscany or Umbria.  I have found it to be a real gem, not overrun by tourists so that it feels in some ways more authentic.  The adriatic side is wonderful in the summer, and there are mountains nearby for winter activities, and some wonderful hill towns to enjoy.

Good Luck to you!