Cost Of Living/Salary comparisn

Hi Friends,

I accidentally came to this forum while looking for some advise on accepting a offer from a company in KL.
I am truly surprised by the helpful approach of senior as well as new members on this forum.

My situation : Currently i earn 1.9Lacs INR before tax@30% in Bangalore (if converted roughly translates to 10500 MYR ). I have an offer of a salary of 14000 MYR for a relatively smaller company but a senior position than i work for in bangalore. I have 17+ years of experience( IT Consulting/Presales etc)
I am married with a 6 yr old kid and have to budget for schooling and also a mortgage in Bangalore of 2000 MYR which will not stop even if i move to KL.

Looking for some advise if this salary is "justifiable" to move to KL.

Thanks a lot in advance.

bring me a job in IT with you and I will answer  :lol:

Will be glad to bring you job ... "if i come then " :) ... but then .. for that i need the answer :)

ok .. I will do my role :)
of course the salary u say is pretty good and sufficient for u to live in KL .. and u may have some savings too :)

Shaarawy, you have to be Indian with IT experience ;-) Clearly this seems to be the trend that I have seen over the last one year :-D

SRS, 14K is a decent package, not good. For your experience, I'd suggest you negotiate for 2-3K more.

but how do u know my experience lol !!!

hahaha ur right sharawy, i dont. im just saying that because everyone who seems to b getting jobs here are mainly indians with IT experience. wish u luck in kl mate.

thank u buddy ... I am a wireless telecom engineer with 10 yrs experience anyways :)

Hi
Sharawy and Carlyle .. thanks for replying .. and your feedback... I guess i will go back and try to re negotiate..

On the other comment .. regarding indians with IT exp. etc. .. i know too less to comment  :) ...
i hope the trend goes in reverse as well :) .. either way .. i would be glad to be of any help :)

Very helpful thread. Thank you very much.