Living in Chiang Mai on a multiple entry Tourist Visa

I am a retiree who is moving permanently to Chiang Mai at the end of the year. I am new to the Expat.com and wanting to know if anyone has "recent" experience on living in Chiang Mai on a multiple entry Tourist Visa? I don't have the financial requirement for getting a retirement visa and after my initial tourist visa expires was wondering where to go to get a new multiple entry tourist visa and how hard it is? Also anyone living in Chiang Mai in similar circumstances? Thanks for the information and advice.

steveinphoenix wrote:

I am a retiree who is moving permanently to Chiang Mai at the end of the year. I am new to the Expat.com and wanting to know if anyone has "recent" experience on living in Chiang Mai on a multiple entry Tourist Visa? I don't have the financial requirement for getting a retirement visa and after my initial tourist visa expires was wondering where to go to get a new multiple entry tourist visa and how hard it is? Also anyone living in Chiang Mai in similar circumstances? Thanks for the information and advice.

I would be very careful about what you intend to do. There is a visa  / immigration office in Chiang Mai for visa renewals.
They will soon pick up on the fact that you are living there illegaly. Best thing to do would be to head to Laos when your visa needs to be renewed then get it renewed at the Thai embassy in Vientiane. Next time renew at Chiang Mai. But be warned you will get found out eventually now that everything is computerised and able to be crosschecked.

Once in Chiang Mai I would go to the expat hangouts and ask around for information.

Thanks for the information. I throughly intend to go out of the country to renew my tourist visa, and as far as I understand, renewing my tourist visa is not illegal? It's just that the retirement financial qualifications are unreasonable for someone living on social security.

steveinphoenix wrote: