Finding work in Iceland

Hi all,

I'm Australian, and my Italian fiancée and I are thinking about moving to Iceland one day in the not-too-distant future (it's just something that's always fascinated us). In addition to my Australian passport, I also have a UK passport, so I think it would be quite easy for us to move to Iceland from a legal/administrative point of view, as we are both EU citizens.

We'd like to know about the prospects for finding work in Iceland. I'm a native English speaker and my fiancée's mother tongue is obviously Italian. She also speaks French, English and German. I can also speak French and Russian. We have a background in languages and have worked as translators. I have a degree in International Relations/Politics and my fiancée has one in Translation. The problem is that neither of us can speak a word of Icelandic (although we are more than willing and actually quite keen to learn it).

We're open to different lines of work. Any advice for us?

My best idea is either the ministry for foreign affairs (maybe only useful if you speak icelandic) or as a certified translator. People do need things translated from/to English and various European languages.

This is the association of certified translators. Not sure how one gets on their list though.

http://flds.is/index.php?option=content … d=39&sP=39

One final detail. Iceland is not in the EU. Currently there is some major (for Iceland) political upheaval over the accession talks. However, as a member of EEA , it is correct that your nationalities allow you to reside there without work visas.

cethomme wrote:

Hi all,

I'm Australian, and my Italian fiancée and I are thinking about moving to Iceland one day in the not-too-distant future (it's just something that's always fascinated us). In addition to my Australian passport, I also have a UK passport, so I think it would be quite easy for us to move to Iceland from a legal/administrative point of view, as we are both EU citizens.