Where to stay

looking to take extended vacation of 4-5 months and wondering where to stay on a budget. Wife and I are  in late 30's and very active. looking to snorkel and enjoy Ecuador.  Suggestions.....
I am a nurse and my wife is adminstation. we both like to run/ hike and sip a few brewskies, also meet new people. not looking for work while down there. want an extended vacation/ travel experience.

mursederek wrote:

looking to take extended vacation of 4-5 months and wondering where to stay on a budget. Wife and I are  in late 30's and very active. looking to snorkel and enjoy Ecuador.  Suggestions.....

Welcome to the forum.  There are many people here to help you with all of your questions.  Most have found snorkeling to be best on the coast.

I stayed in hostels almost my entire time in Ecuador. I loved it. And you don't have to stay in a huge room with other travelers if you'd like privacy. Many hostels have private rooms for singles or couples that run about $20 a night or so. I also stayed in a hotel in Quito for a bit that was about $18 a night that had cable TV with Warner channel in English (Big Bang Theory, The Middle, Two and a Half Men, etc), and while not plush, it was decent, quiet, and clean.

I loved this place in Banos (yes, I'm gonna talk about Banos as always). It's $12.50 per person, but they also have free dinner three nights a week. This is a nicer sort of hostel, so it's a tad more expensive than you can get, but it gives you an idea.  I left a review under Brandon8080. You'll see some poo pooing about the showers being cold, but that's typical for Ecuador. Hot water is hit or miss and was mostly ok at this place. http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review … vince.html