Thinking of coming back to Malta

Some of you may remember me, I came to live in Malta with my husband, 1 year old son and mother 2 years ago. We stayed for 6 months and then left Malta within a week of our decision to return to the UK. My mother wanted to return desperately to Aberdeen as she was having health problems and we were having, what now seems like minor problems so the decision was made somewhat hastily. My husband, son and I have been living in England for the past 18 months and I have a good job but we both keep thinking we made the wrong decision coming back. I am back in the rat race so to speak and I find I am constantly stressed. I see my son a lot less than I would like and as we are living in a small city my husband is struggling to see where he will find work. I just feel I am living to work here without any relaxation factored in. Rent and council tax is extortionate and all my wages see to go on bills.

I am studying with the Open University for a Languages Degree (French and Spanish) and currently doing my CELTA to teach English abroad. I am just now wondering (as the New Year fast approaches) whether we should have stayed and tried harder. A lot of our reasons for returning seem unfounded now. I am so confused as to what our next move should be. We both talk about returning on a weekly basis but most of our savings were used on our return here so we no longer have the cushion we once had. I want to make the right decision and don't want to be filled with regret for not giving it a proper chance but I am worried we would go back and immediately think we have made the wrong decision. Has anyone else been in a similar position?

Thanks

I can't answer that as I have not.
All I can suggest is that as you left in a hurry, you may return in a hurry too.
Perhaps you need more time to stabilise?
Work towards a possible return, saving what you can.
Perhaps explore other options in UK in the meantime?