Self-employed - Tax / NI rates

HI,

Was wondering if any self-employed people can assist I am new in Malta working within IT as a contractor and still trying to work out all the rules and regulations.

I now have my social, Tax and VAT numbers. The VAT seamed easy until I was informed that you can take deductions from your VAT so does anyone have any links that I can study to work out what you deduct from VAT to what to deduct from TAXES.

Does anyone have any links so I can identify what category I fall under with taxes and social as they are due in December and have no clue where to pay or what rate I need to calculate at -0 can anyone help.

Also I can pay directly from my bank to VAT department does anyone know if I can do this for social and Taxes.

I would appreciate any assistance on these topics as December mu first payments are due and I do not want to under or over pay :)

In advance thanks for any support

Wendy

Isn't that the kind of stuff an accountant can sort out for you? I've been self-employed for six years in Belgium and i've never done a tax or VAT declaration myself.

Now i've just moved here and i have an appointment next week with an accounting firm that's been recommended several times here on this forum but i'm not sure if I'm allowed to advertise for them :)

"any links that I can study to work out what you deduct from VAT to what to deduct from TAXES."

I suggest to find an accountant. It's cheaper than penalties :)

Phone the tax office in Floriana, they are most helpful.

Terry

Hello Wendy,