Adapting to Life in Cần Thơ and Việt Nam

I moved here just under three years ago, for a lot of reasons, some personal, some professional, some political.  Adaptation hasn't been easy though the problems I've had didn't correlate too well with the ones I though I'd have.

For one thing, I never had a panic attack of "Oh my god, what have I done!!" like I expected. 

I think it might be worthwhile to talk about the experience since it's plain talking to others that mind is anything but unique. 

I had originally planned to stay in the USA a few more years and work, but when I came over in September 2010 and lived in my completed house I decided to go ahead and do it, since as a software contractor I had a good chance of eating into my savings if jobs got harder to find.  I have been here since 11/10 and not been back.  I built my own house (you can see it on the banner here, with the gold balconies: http://namlongcantho.com/vn/) so didn't have to deal with finding accommodations, which is a big obstacle for many.

I'm focusing on the cultural adaptations, though, not the bureaucratic ones like visa renewal.

Number one: cigarettes.  Among Vietnamese men over a certain age or in a certain class, smoking is nearly universal.  See two or more men having coffee or noodles and you will always see the pack with the lighter.  It would never occur to anyone here that some people don't like the smell.  I'm allergic to the smoke and have had headaches that left me unable to work for a week or more.  Men will light up right under a no smoking sign, in an air-conditioned room.  It's not rudeness, it's not that America Joy To Annoy, it's simple unconsciousness.