Opening an account in Ireland

I am moving in July. 

I have no intentions of getting a job, immediately.  I'm staying with my boyfriend for the duration of his contract in Dublin.  I have a home in the US that I am renting and have a nice bit of change saved.  I want to know how do I go about opening a bank account without having to show a utility bill.  Shouldn't the residency permit suffice?  I just need access to some funds locally without feeling the pain of the foreign atm fee from home or the cost of the foreign exchange (which isn't much but I do not wish to spend unnecessarily).

Thanks...

Hiya,

I work in a bank in Ireland and just saw your post.  No I'm afraid a residency permit would not suffice.  You would need to have either a utility bill or a statement from another bank showing your current address.  We also cannot accept Tenancy agreements.  Could your boyfried get you added to one of his utility bills?that'd be the quickest and easiest fo you.  They are very strict on what is acceptable here in Ireand and the UK.

hope this helps

Sarah

Hi Sarah

Just a quick question if I may? I am coming over to Ireland early November to make final arrangements for my permanent move in January 2011.

As an irish citizen, moving over to Ireland for the first time, would I be able to open a bank account and register for a tax number, if I am not yet there permanently? :)

Would be great to receive your comments.

Thanks a mil

I'm not too sure about that one...possibly not as I think you have to be resident to get a PPS no. I managed to open an account before I moved here with a statement from my UK account but I'm not sure if you'd be able to use one from Johannesberg.  There are a few 'moving to Ireland' websites that'll tell you things regarding practicalities.  I used them for things like finding out about importing my cars.  Also, the Revenue Commissioners website is handy for explaining tax issues.  Hope that helps! :-)