10 months in....

Hello. Well, 10 months into our new life here, and all I can say, is that it beats Spain by a mile. I have written a book "Retire to Spain", now I am writing, "Retire to Malta", so the differences are important to my publishing work.

I have been talking to expats to get the feedback from their experiences, and so far, they are very good indeed, and the funny thing is, it's the same niggles that come up in most cases as the negative things, and they can be fixed easily for Malta. Bottom line is, lovely people and climate, lots of litter, especially in open places, and roads that could do with a lot of work. Excellent health service as well.

In my work as a Qualified Financial Consultant, I meet so many expats that are not aware of their full pension rights when living out of the UK, which are very advantageous to them, yet they are set up to pay the biggest taxes and get the lowest pension payments. So my financial role, is one of education in the main, and its so gratifying to be able to help people on such an important matter, and create financial advantages for them.

We live in Qawra, which is in the St Pauls Bay area. My grandkids love it, so all our immediate family are here now too, it's safe, its relatively low cost living, and my wife Carolyn and I will see out the rest of our days here, and that's after 13 years in Spain, so we know the difference :)

Nice one (and a clever advert) :)

GOOD LUCK AND WELCOME TO THE FORUM

I concur, I spent some 15 months in Tenerife and I like it better here, too (so far)

You lucky people...

Like you (and some close friends) we made the transfer from Spain (Costa Blanca region) to Malta and absolutely knew the move was correct... but sadly things did not work out for my wife so we had to relocate back to the UK... OK, it's not all bad and I get to see my grand kids and the rest of the family far more frequently but boy, there are times when I miss Malta so much it really hurts...