Getting started...

Hello everyone!

My name is Tanisha and I am a US citizen. I'm 26 currently saving and working as a CNA. I am in my third semester of my two year Graphic design program. After I graduate i want to move to Brunei,darussalam . I met the love of my life online and after 8 years of talking on the phone and the computer; we met face to face and are now engaged. He lives in Brunei,darussalam and we are both currently saving for me to go over there.

Now for the question: What first steps do I have to take to become a permanent resident? Do I need to see the department of immigration here (in the U.S) or travel there and get the paper work started?

Some people have mentioned that I could just ask for the department of immigration permission to marry my fiance. However, i don't want to shortcut this and i want to actually learn this culture. My fiance is doing the best he can but states he doesn't know everything.

Thank you for any and all suggestions and/or answers!

Hi Talston,

Welcome to Expat-Blog ;)

If I'm not wrong, I think you should go and see the department of immigration in the U.S and get the maximum of information or they might tell you to get some documents print up and what kind of proof do you need to show that your relation is genuine.. at least get the basic paper works done and then ask him to do so in Brunei.. and see what are the application you need to fill up and what documents you need to show or provide.. try to gather the maximum of information on both side, or you can get help from a solicitor :)

I hope the other members will give you more feedback

Best of luck to both of you and feel free to ask your questions on the Forum pls ;)

Thank you

Maximilien
Expat-blog Team

Greetings and salutations,

Wow! 8 years is a long time to have a long distance relationship. Im glad you guys worked things out.

Id like to begin by saying, that its easier for a female expat, when married to a bruneian male, to get a PR.