What are your difficulties when learning Vietnamese?

Hi folks,

Just wanna put a question for those who used to or are studying Vietnamese: What challenges you when you learn Vietnamese?

Any responses, feedback are appreciated.

Thanks.

Hi I have been here for over three years and was very keen to learn when I first arrived. I am not that good with language but I did try.
I found that no one hear really wanted to help me and if my pronunciation was a little off I felt I was more or less being laughed at. So I lost my enthusiasm completely.

Hi James,
Thanks for your feedback. I am wondering where or from whom you studied Vietnamese? And I am so sorry that no one helped you with your pronunciation, and of course pronouncing the word is a bit difficult and it  should take time to practice.
Maybe you have not met the right teacher to help you with your problem.

Tones :/

I hate words with -oc ending.  It always sounds like -up to me.

ex).  hoc = learn, it sounds like hup to me. 
khoc = cry, it sounds like cup.

And also, the first two letters in a word that use tr and ch, they both sound the same to me, but my fiance says its not :(

ex) trieu = million, chieu = afternoon, they both sound exactly the same!

Em ois!
As I mentioned  earlier, "nothing is free"!  If you really want to leaarn some language, you should go some school.
Here some members offering 'free' lessons with many implied intentions:-)  Don't fall in that offer. If you want to drink or eat or enjoy together, it's okay:-)  Please don't  misuse the phrases, "language exchange" or "cultural exchange":-)

Prem Charma

I thought I was pretty good with languages, till I tried to Learn Vietnamese.
Same as "jameskeep"

I found that no one hear really wanted to help me and if my pronunciation was a little off I felt I was more or less being laughed at. So I lost my enthusiasm completely.

and tones.

I don't bother now ... it's easy to get by. Pity though ....