Relocating from Thailand to Ho Chi Minh?

Hi everyone, my first post here on the forum! :D

Where to start.. So, I have been working in hotels for over 10 years now. I am currently working at a resort in Phuket, Thailand and have been living here for 1 and a half years.  Although there are frustrations as with any country, generally speaking I feel Thailand is a great country.. I love the craziness of Bangkok to the laid back vibe of Chiang Mai however I have come to really dislike living in Phuket over these past few months... for lots of reasons which I am sure many of you may already be aware of if you have visited this rather expensive and over-commercialized island.

Another point is that it is becoming increasingly difficult and frustrating for foreigners to find work here (especially in my field of work) as visa/work permits are becoming harder to obtain due to the strict work/visa regulations enforced by the government. I do understand that Vietnam is also difficult although perhaps not to the extent of Thailand.

So back to my main point.. I have no intentions to return home to the UK just yet as I love SE Asia, so I am considering moving to either Vietnam or the Philippines.. with my first choice being Vietnam and in particular Ho Chi Minh City (I miss the buzz of city life!)

-Generally speaking is it difficult to find work (in particular hotel work) as an expat in HCMC?

-Are work permits difficult to obtain?

-Is it easier to find work before moving there or is it easier to move there and then find work? I ask this as I have sent my Resume off to so many places with barely a response back.. I am sure that networking is a huge factor in finding work there.

-As a UK citizen, if I obtained a 90 day tourist visa, are you able to renew this (like Thailand) by doing visa runs and re-entering the country? This would be particularly useful if I moved there to find work as it would give me more time to find a suitable position.