Purchasing a Two Wheeler

Hi,

I am new in Oman and currently staying in Muscat. I understand getting the driving license for a car is quite a task and can take some time.

I am planning to purchase a motorbike here and meanwhile apply for the driving license. Can anyone guide me on what are the requirements to drive a two wheeler in Oman and how can I purchase one. It's been quite difficult for me to locate a dealer or  purchase a second hand one. Any contacts are appreciated.

Kind Regards,
harshit

Dear Harshit,
EVen for a 2 wheeler, you will require atleast a learner's license. The form and the procedure can be obtained from ROP headoffice (Qurum or either seeb).

It depends on which bike you're looking for. In ruwi area, there are few dealers (For ordinary bikes) who r into this business, however for the sports bike, there are showrooms.

I am looking for an ordinary motorbike or scooterette which I can use for daily purposes.

In your opinion is it safe to drive motorbike here. I have been driving motorbike in India for as long as I can remember :)

You must be well aware of the roads and the speed here. Its not much safe to drive on the roads of Muscat, however if you're confident enough on yourself, you may ride a bike.

harshuch wrote:

I am looking for an ordinary motorbike or scooterette which I can use for daily purposes.

In your opinion is it safe to drive motorbike here. I have been driving motorbike in India for as long as I can remember :)

Hey in my opinion, a two wheeler isnt the best option in Oman, just remember fast lanes and excellent roads can only mean hi speed traffic..... it might be useful getting around small towns like Al Khuwair for example, but I can only see a very limited use.

In such a hot weather two wheeler not a good option at all and the amount of effort and money you going to put for licence better to spent on car licence.