Does anyone have dual citizenship

Onelitha,

I'm an American professor who has taught at several German universities, My grandparents lived in Prussia and then Poland before coming to the USA.  At best, I don't think that this would help me much. What I am interested in is dual citizenship: American/German.  Is this even  possible.  I have friends who have taught in German universities for as long as twenty years on some visa that granted them special exemptions because their subjects were considered either rare or poorly represented in Germany. This is why I am continually invited to teach for another year. Would my application be considered any differently than any other?

To be honest, though, I don't know what the advantages of acquiring dual citizenship would be for me.  Does anyone have dual citizenship who could  educate me on this matter?

Thank you in advance,

Jack

Hello Jack,

I have created a new topic as from your post on the Frankfurt forum for better visibility.

Regards,

Francesca

You have to renounce all other citizenship when you are given the German one.
Double citizenship in Germany is only possible by birth, or in special hardship circumstances that don't apply to US citizens (e.g. when the other country does not allow to renounce or places unreasonable conditions on it).

Isn't there an exemption related to nazi persecution that doesn't require renunciation? What was the reason your grandparents moved to the US?

There is no exception, but people of German ancestry are seen as German citizen by birth, even if the paperwork is done later in life.

I have had dual citizenship all my life and it is awesome.
1) when traveling in Europe with a German passport, people automatically are nicer to you.
2) you can stay in Germany as long as you want!!(=

but I do know it is a total pain getting or even updating your german passport!!

jack rollins wrote: