Thinking of moving to Stockholm but very little Swedish!

Hi all,

I am currently studying literature in England and I am thinking of moving to Stockholm to be with my fiancé, who is not in a position to move here.

I would like to be able to contribute financially after I move and I'd really like to be able to work in a (tolerable) job. The issue is that, realistically, my Swedish will be nowhere near fluent before the move.I know that the Swedes are notoriously good at speaking English, but I would like a sense of how realistic it is for English speakers to work in Sweden, at least until I have a better grasp of the language.

I'd really appreciate any help, advice or experience anyone has to offer. Successfully making this move means a great deal to me.

Thankyou,

Jo

Hello Jo.

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

What are your skills?
In which sector will you be looking for work?

Thank you,
Aurélie

Hey!
I'm in the same position as Jo.
I'm a personal assistant back home. I won't leave my country until I get a job there in Stockholm... But maybe it would be easier to find it if I move first... Well as you see, I'm a bit lost with logistics ^^

Thanks for helping guys !