Hello, Everyone

Hello, my name is Cynthia from the USA and I am wanting to move to Hyderabad. I am looking for someone to help me get acquainted with a proper neighborhood in which to live.  I am an online student that figures that since I can live anywhere and study, it might as well be India, right?

I have been told that I should find housing around the American Embassy and I am having difficulty in knowing how I go about finding a suitable apartment.  My income is limited, but I have been told that it is enough to find a relatively nice apartment.

Does anyone have suggestions for me?  Would anyone like to make a buddy and answer questions for me?  I have lived abroad before and know that sometimes real estate workers are quite expensive and will find apartments that are way over priced for the market. And of course I will be wanting to avoid this at all cost.

I will appreciate any help in this matter.  Thanks so much. :)

hi cynthia,

welcome to India. im from chennai. if you need any help here in chennai. please do feel free to revert

wrt hyderbad, pls let me know what u would like to know, to best of my knowledge i would revert back to u

Thank you, but I am trying to find someone that lives near the American Consulate.  I have been told by friends that I should stay close by the consulate, but thank you.  You are quite sweet to offer your help.

Hi Cynthia,

From what I gather, the US consulate is found in Begumpet, Secunderabad which is the main part of the city with people who don't always understand/speak english.

More expat friendly would be Banjara Hills or Jubilee Hills. However, if you are up for the Hyderabadi cultural immersion, with the crazy traffic, go for Begumpet.

Hello Cynthia,