Newbie ..so many Questions!

Hi All,

I am a newbie to this Forum and looking for some info. After reading some of these  questions I noticed  SABenny and SM Jackson you were both looking to make the move to Phuket last year or year before. I just wandered how things were going?
My Hubby and I are in Thailand at present actually will be in Phuket for 10 days with the view of making the move ourselves.
We have holidayed in Thailand past 25 years, love the place, so we are on a 5 week vacation now looking at various areas to place ourselves(currently in Hua Hin)
Our aim at the moment is to select a place we would like to be, come over and give it a try for 3 months(rental) then consider rent or buy condo.Would like any feedback on this!

It's a big decision to make, obviously on holiday you see things in a different light, so I would really love some feedback on perhaps how your settling and anybody else for that matter. Generally speaking I think it would be a lot easier for the guy to settle as expat than western female?.. Thoughts please. My Husband as not long retired, so neither of us would be working, we love walks along the beachfront, would prefer to be in an area close enough fr this, also for public transport, be close to shops of some kind, restaurants, coffee shops, not so much on all the bars ect. Which location would you choose?

Thanks in advance!

Look forwArd to hearing from anybody!

Welcome to the forum. You certainly seem to have taken the right approach when considering a move here. The three month rental is sound too(might be difficult to get one at a reasonable price though).

My only negative thought with what you say is that you seem to have visited very touristy areas(the ones you mention). Life here as an expat is a fair bit different especially if you choose to live away from the tourist traps(which are very expensive).