Accountant / Mortgage advice

I bought an appartment 5 years ago in Budapest.

I have been looking at the mortgage (MKB) and there is someything there that I am a bit wary of.

I don't speak much Hungarian and practicly no "Bank" at all.

Can anyone recommend someone who could look at my repayment schedule and tell me if it is correct.

Thank you

Stewart

Hi,

I'm no expert, but am Hungarian :-)

But of course you should not share such documents with strangers on the Internet. At least here you have my posting history to go by...

Well, it should be simple enough for an accountant to work out, I just need some advice who to talk to.

I paid 25% deposit and have an "endowment insurance" mortgage but the final payment seems for the full purchase price not for the 75% loan.

I'm pretty thick when it comes to finance so I just wanted it checked before I talk to the bank.

The damn thing is in Swiss Francs of course.

sg2 wrote:

an "endowment insurance" mortgage but the final payment seems for the full purchase price not for the 75% loan.

That is how an endowment loan works: You pay interest only on the loan, and do not at all decrease the principle. Instead, your "payments" go into an investment fund that is suppose to provide a return that should, when the loan comes due, have enough to pay off the existing 75% principle all at once (and in "ideal" conditions even make more so you could also have a nice "profit" from the endowment). So, yes, you are still liable for that full remaining amount of 75%. That is paid from the income generated in the endowment. If you think the final payment is for 100% of the loan then something is amiss, and may be due to the current, and unfavorable, currency exchange rate if the loan is in Swiss Francs.