Moving Abroad In Need Of Despirate Visa Help

I'm a Citizen of Canada and looking to move to England. My partner is a British Citizen, and we plan on getting married at the end of 2013 or within the next few years.

I'd live to move to England on a work visa for the 2/3 years I need to live in England before I can apply for a duel Citizenship. I don't know what type of work Visa I should apply for though.

I have 8 years of construction experience, but I don't want to necessarily work in that area for the whole length of my stay. Could I apply as a skilled worker still? What Visa would I need to apply for to just work a regular job in a store or something?

I'm also interested in studying at College in England. In the future could I apply for a student visa while residing in England on a work Visa? Is that transfer possible?

Because of complications with my High School degrees I don't know if I'll 100% be able to get into College, so I don't want to get there to apply for a placement then be told I can't after paying for it all, hence why I'd like to get there on a work Visa before looking into studying.

If someone could let me know I'd be really grateful.

Thank you.

It's impossible to get a work visa without advanced qualifications. However, as a Canadian citizen you could get a working holiday visa if you are aged 18 to 30. Otherwise it's either a spouse visa, fiance visa or student visa. It takes at least 5 years to get the right of permanent residence and then citizenship.

you should get married and avoid all the visa trouble. just saying.

So if I were to get married to my partner I could stay no matter what? Would I have to leave to get the right visas or would the need for them be excluded because I'd be married to a British Citizen?