Rental car suggestion in Bahrain

Hello all,

I am about to get my driving license and I would like to get your thoughts on renting a car for beginners. I am not into fancy cars and I am new to driving. I want something comfortable, simple and does the job of taking me from A to B. A built-in GPS would be good but not essential. Which car do you recommend to someone who is new to driving? Where do you rent your cars from? What is the price range I should be looking at?

Appreciate your response.

I pay 200BD a month for my car. Brand new from Speedy car rental at Alosra.  There is no GPS but they cheap to buy at Cerrefore anyway.

There are lots of car rental places right by where you work. Why don't you pop over in your lunch break? Ask them about rules (age, length of time you have to have had your licence before you can rent, holding deposit etc)

Most rental cars are automatics and I would strongly recommend that you have one and not a manual

hi there, is it worth bringing proof of no claims discount from my previous insurance company ? Thanks in advance

dazzadarule wrote:

hi there, is it worth bringing proof of no claims discount from my previous insurance company ? Thanks in advance

No not here. It's the car that is insured not the person.

Did you find a car brightonguy? I just hired a little Honda sedan from Avis at the gulf hotel for 170bd per month. No GPS but bought the garmin for 60bd and love it.

Hi Silver,

I bought the garmin and it doesn't update so you may find yourself very lost especially around Isa Town where all the new roads are being built.

Thanks to Josnuggles, we went to rent a car together and I rented a 2013 model Kia Cerano. So far love it! Didn't buy a GPS yet as the Google Maps app on my iPhone seems to serve the purpose perfectly. I even bought an iPhone car mount kit so I attach it on the window and it looks just like a GPS.