Help from people that would know!

Hi,

My husband and I are very seriously thinking of moving to Qatar?

My husband is a quantity surveyor, so has a skilled job that should work for us over there.

I am a trainer/manger within the telcoms industry so I too would like to work.

My husband has since last week been in talks with a UK recruitment company and a company within Qatar re a possible position, the talks between them have been very confusing, from the over the phone interview to now an offer of a job.

We have friends that work or have worked in different parts of the middle east, and when they relocated they have various different stages of the interview process including a face to face. This has not happened with my husband (it could be, as they thought he had the skills required) but surely it would be better to actually meet in person before making a final decision? When the relocated they were offered a full relocation package. Is there anyone that works within construction or my husband's field that knows the going rate for a relocation package and what should be offered?

It has brought us to today where they have offered him the role, however have not included accommodation or company car with the package and said this would be at our own expense, the package they have offered is at a rate that you would think that a company car and accommodation would naturally be included in.

We have actually never been to Qatar before, but have travelled to and from Dubai many times (I appreciate Qatar is nothing like Dubai)

Can anyone out there please help and give me some expat advise

Many thanks is advance

Britt

Accommodation is quite expensive - you will be hard pressed to find something decent for less than 12000 QR a month - so factor that in if its not included. Often car is not included, but there may be a travel/car allowance.